The MUFF 19 Awards

Here are the winners of the 19th Melbourne Underground Film Festival awards.


Best Film – Farmlands by Lauren Southern

Best Actor – Gary Cairns II (Purgatory Road)

Best Actress (tie) – Trista Robinson (Purgatory Road) and Gertrud Stammheim (Ulrike’s Brain)

Best Director (tie) – Stephen K Bannon and Mike Retter

Best Supporting Actor – Jonathan Johnson (Ulrike’s Brain).

Best Supporting Actress – Isabelle Jacqueline (The Decadent and Depraved)

Best Screenplay (tie) – Mark Savage and Bryan Bruce LaBruce.

Special Jury Prize – Ulrike’s Brain by Bryan Bruce LaBruce

Best Documentary – Trump at War – by Stephen K Bannon

Award for Innovation and Daring – Mike Retter (for pioneering Vertical Cinema)

Best Cinematography – Andrew Gionetto – Purgatory Road

Best Guerilla Film – Supply by Robert Stark and Matthew Pegan



Best Short (tie) – No Fury by David John Kelly and Five O Clock by James Di Martino

Runner Up best short – The Intentions of F.Scott Ryan Fitzgerald

Best Actor (tie) -Leigh Scully (Harm) and Albert Goikhman (Five o’Cock)

Best International Short – Best Little Whorehouse in Texas (Terry McMahon)

Special Jury Prize Shorts – Sacrificial Virgins

Special Patron’s Award (tie) – Poetry Club and For The Love of Cinema

Best Technical Achievement – Night Games – by Rob Boyd.

Best Director – Terry McMahon

Award for Best New Talent – James Di Martino